July/August Book Haul

Wednesday, September 13 2017 4:00 pm, GMT+1h Laura | Leave a comment

This is what I bought in July, oh man! Kobo had a .99 book sale, you can bet I bought everything and more:

Abbandoned by Cody McFadyen.

Fourth book in Smoky Barrett Series. I had to buy this book in English because sold out in Italian and no Italian kobo version :cry:

The woman had been missing for almost eight years.
Someone watched her, stalked her, kidnapped her, and held her captive in the dark all that time. No ransom demand, and no suspects. No answers, even now that the woman has been found – thrown from an unmarked car in front of a beach-side wedding – alive but unbearably traumatized. All she can do is scream. Tracking a kidnapper who appears to have no motive, FBI Special Agent Smoky Barrett and her team are plunged into the most sinister and disturbing case of their careers.Then they start to find the others.

Every Dead Thing by John Connolly.

First book in the Charlie Parker Series, a new one for me. The description says “Perfect for fans of Jeffery Deaver” so I’m in, hope I won’t get crashed.

The gripping first Charlie Parker novel from bestselling author John Connolly – perfect for fans of Stephen King and Jeffery Deaver.

Tormented and racked with guilt over the brutal slaying of his wife and daughter, Charlie Parker, ex-cop with the NYPD, agrees to track down a missing girl. It is a search that will lead him into an abyss of evil. At the same time, he is warned by an old black woman in Louisiana that ‘The Travelling Man’ is about to strike again. Multiple strands converge with a horrific confrontation in which hunter and hunted are intimately connected by guilt.

Isle of the Dead by Alex Connor.

First book of the homonym series. I read Connor’s “The Caravaggio Conspiracy” and I loved it.

In 15th century Venice it is a dangerous time to be alive. A permanent winter has rolled in over the canals and bodies keep washing up on the banks of the city. These bodies are especially hard to identify, since they have been skinned.
In the present day, a famous portrait by Titian has been discovered. Its subject: the 15th century suspected murderer Angelico Vespucci. The skins of Vespucci’s victims were never found, so his guilt was never proven. Although it is rumoured that when the portrait arises, so will the man. And when flayed bodies start turning up all over the world, it looks like this is more than just a superstition. A murderer has been called back to life, and he is hungry for revenge.

Abducted by T.R. Tagan.

New author for me.First book in the Lizzy Gardner Series.

Elizabeth Gardner (Lizzy) is seventeen-years old when she tells her parents she’s going out with her girlfriends. Instead, she meets up with her boyfriend, Jared Shayne. As she walks home beneath an inky black sky, her perfect night becomes her worst nightmare.
Fourteen years later, Lizzy is a licensed PI known as the ‘one who got away’. When she’s not searching for runaway teenagers, working on insurance scams, or talking to her therapist, she’s at the local high school teaching young girls to defend themselves. But her world is turned upside down for the second time after she receives a call from Jared Shayne. He’s an FBI special agent now and he needs her help. Lizzy has no plans to get involved. Not until Jared tells her the kidnapper left her a personalized note.

The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison.

New author, too. First book in The Collector Series.

Near an isolated mansion lies a beautiful garden. In this garden grow luscious flowers, shady trees…and a collection of precious “butterflies”—young women who have been kidnapped and intricately tattooed to resemble their namesakes. Overseeing it all is the Gardener, a brutal, twisted man obsessed with capturing and preserving his lovely specimens.
When the garden is discovered, a survivor is brought in for questioning. FBI agents Victor Hanoverian and Brandon Eddison are tasked with piecing together one of the most stomach-churning cases of their careers. But the girl, known only as Maya, proves to be a puzzle herself. As her story twists and turns, slowly shedding light on life in the Butterfly Garden, Maya reveals old grudges, new saviors, and horrific tales of a man who’d go to any length to hold beauty captive. But the more she shares, the more the agents have to wonder what she’s still hiding…

 

The Shepherd by Ethan Cross.

First book in the homonym series.

Marcus Williams and Francis Ackerman Jr. both have a talent for hurting people. Marcus, a former New York City homicide detective, uses his abilities to protect others while Ackerman uses his gifts to inflict pain and suffering. When both men become unwilling pawns in a conspiracy that reaches to the highest levels of our government, Marcus finds himself in a deadly game of cat and mouse trapped between a twisted psychopath and a vigilante with seemingly unlimited resources. Aided by a rogue FBI agent and the vigilante’s beautiful daughter – a woman with whom he’s quickly falling in love – Marcus must expose the deadly political conspiracy and confront his past while hunting down one of the must cunning and ruthless killers in the world.

The Girl in the Ice by Robert Bryndza.

First book in the Detective Erika Foster Series.

Her eyes are wide open. Her lips parted as if to speak. Her dead body frozen in the ice…She is not the only one.  When a young boy discovers the body of a woman beneath a thick sheet of ice in a South London park, Detective Erika Foster is called in to lead the murder investigation.  The victim, a beautiful young socialite, appeared to have the perfect life. Yet when Erika begins to dig deeper, she starts to connect the dots between the murder and the killings of three prostitutes, all found strangled, hands bound and dumped in water around London. What dark secrets is the girl in the ice hiding? As Erika inches closer to uncovering the truth, the killer is closing in on Erika. The last investigation Erika led went badly wrong… resulting in the death of her husband. With her career hanging by a thread, Erika must now battle her own personal demons as well as a killer more deadly than any she’s faced before. But will she get to him before he strikes again? A page-turning thriller packed with suspense. If you like Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter, discover Robert Bryndza’s new series today.

Birthdays for the Dead by Stuart MacBride.

First book in the Ash Henderson Series.

Detective Constable Ash Henderson has a dark secret… Five years ago his daughter, Rebecca, went missing on the eve of her thirteenth birthday. A year later the first card arrived: home-made, with a Polaroid picture stuck to the front – Rebecca, strapped to a chair, gagged and terrified. Every year another card: each one worse than the last.
The tabloids call him ‘The Birthday Boy’. He’s been snatching girls for twelve years, always in the run-up to their thirteenth birthday, sending the families his home-made cards showing their daughters being slowly tortured to death.
But Ash hasn’t told anyone about Rebecca’s birthday cards – they all think she’s just run away from home – because if anyone finds out, he’ll be taken off the investigation. And he’s sacrificed too much to give up before his daughter’s killer gets what he deserves…
 

L’alfabetista and Il Burattinaio by Torsten Pettersson.

I always wanted to read more from Nordic authors and the plot of these two book are quite intriguing. There’s no English translation, though, sorry, the original titles are respectively Ge mig dina ögon and Göm mig i ditt hjärta.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *