A ​Sky Beyond the Storm

A ​Sky Beyond the Storm

, Book # 4
December 1st 2020
February 24, 2021 March 2, 2021
, , , ,

Picking up just a few months after A Reaper at the Gates left off...

The long-imprisoned jinn are on the attack, wreaking bloody havoc in villages and cities alike. But for the Nightbringer, vengeance on his human foes is just the beginning.

At his side, Commandant Keris Veturia declares herself Empress, and calls for the heads of any and all who defy her rule. At the top of the list? The Blood Shrike and her remaining family.

Laia of Serra, now allied with the Blood Shrike, struggles to recover from the loss of the two people most important to her. Determined to stop the approaching apocalypse, she throws herself into the destruction of the Nightbringer. In the process, she awakens an ancient power that could lead her to victory--or to an unimaginable doom.

And deep in the Waiting Place, the Soul Catcher seeks only to forget the life--and love--he left behind. Yet doing so means ignoring the trail of murder left by the Nightbringer and his jinn. To uphold his oath and protect the human world from the supernatural, the Soul Catcher must look beyond the borders of his own land. He must take on a mission that could save--or destroy--all that he knows.

About the book

A Sky Beyond the Storm is the fourth and last book in the series that began with An Amber in the Ashes, continued with A Torch Against the Night and then with A Reaper at the Gates. It’s been six months since we last saw our protagonists. Laia and Hellen have managed to take refuge in Hellen’s hometown with her sister, the Empress Regent and her nephew, the Emperor, Zacharian. Keris has proclaimed herself empress and the kingdom is at war. The jinn are now free and are reaping terror and death among humans.

Continue reading “A ​Sky Beyond the Storm”

Death In The Great Dismal

Death In The Great Dismal by Eleanor Kuhns
on Tour March 22 – April 16, 2021


Finding themselves in a slave community hidden within the Great Dismal Swamp, Will Rees and his wife Lydia get caught up in a dangerous murder case where no one trusts them.
September 1800, Maine. Will Rees is beseeched by Tobias, an old friend abducted by slave catchers years before, to travel south to Virginia to help transport his pregnant wife, Ruth, back north. Though he’s reluctant, Will’s wife Lydia convinces him to go . . . on the condition she accompanies them.

Upon arriving in a small community of absconded slaves hiding within the Great Dismal Swamp, Will and Lydia are met with distrust. Tensions are high and a fight breaks out between Tobias and Scipio, a philanderer with a bounty on his head known for conning men out of money. The following day Scipio is found dead – shot in the back.

Stuck within the hostile Great Dismal and with slave catchers on the prowl, Will and Lydia find themselves caught up in their most dangerous case yet.

Book Details:

Genre: Mystery, Thriller
Published by: Severn House Publishers
Publication Date: January 5th 2021
Number of Pages: 224
ISBN: 0727890239 (ISBN13: 9780727890238)
Series: Will Rees Mysteries #8
Purchase Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

Continue reading “Death In The Great Dismal”

Book Blogger Hop #14

Click the image above to know what this is about! It’s fun!

This week question:

Does the cover of a book affect whether you are more willing to read it? (submitted by Julie @ JadeSky)

My answer:

Not in a negative way. If I like the cover I may notice it and pick it up, but if I don’t like the cover and I like the blurb then I read it anyway and it it’s part of a series I will read it even if the cover sucks (see Hello Again: Hanover House which the Italian cover sucked – even if the English one was beautiful – and I read it anyway).

Face Off

Face Off

, Book # 3
August 28th 2018
February 20, 2021 February 23, 2021
, , , ,

Tortured and left for dead at sixteen, Evelyn Talbot turned her personal nightmare into her life’s work—studying the disturbing psychopathy of some of the world’s most vicious serial killers. Now a leading psychiatrist at Hanover House in a small Alaskan town, she tries to believe the past will never come back to haunt her—until a woman goes missing from a cabin nearby, and every clue points to the man who once brutalized her…

As her boyfriend, who is the area’s only police, begins to investigate—and finds not one but two bodies—Evelyn can’t forget that her would-be killer, Jasper Moore, was never caught. But there are no new faces in tiny Hilltop, no one who seems suspicious or potentially violent. In this twisted game of cat and mouse, Evelyn is certain of only one thing—Jasper must be hiding in plain sight. And if she can’t find him before he comes for her, she won’t be lucky enough to survive twice…

About the book

Third book in the Brenda Novak series set in Alaska. Eight months have passed since the last book in which Evelyn, for the umpteenth time, was attacked because of her job, but fortunately she was saved by her new guard. Now she would like to have a child with Amarok, but the baby doesn’t arrive. Meanwhile, a tourist disappears and fear returns to Hilltop and many, including Amarok’s ex, blame Evelyn and Hanover House, the psychiatric clinic where she works in which the most dangerous criminals are locked up.

Continue reading “Face Off”