Website | Goodreads | |

Silent Child

Silent Child
,

Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
January 22nd 2017
eBook
413
English
July 2, 2020 August 7, 2020

In the summer of 2006, Emma Price watched helplessly as her six-year-old son's red coat was fished out of the River Ouse. It was the tragic story of the year - a little boy, Aiden, wandered away from school during a terrible flood, fell into the river, and drowned.

His body was never recovered.

Ten years later, Emma has finally rediscovered the joy in life. She's married, pregnant, and in control again...

... until Aiden returns.

Too traumatized to speak, he raises endless questions and answers none. Only his body tells the story of his decade-long disappearance. The historic broken bones and injuries cast a mere glimpse into the horrors Aiden has experienced. Aiden never drowned. Aiden was taken.

As Emma attempts to reconnect with her now teenage son, she must unmask the monster who took him away from her. But who, in their tiny village, could be capable of such a crime?

It's Aiden who has the answers, but he cannot tell the unspeakable.

This dark and disturbing psychological novel will appeal to fans of The Widow and The Butterfly Garden.


About the book

Silent Child is about a 6-year-old boy who is kidnapped and who after 10 years is suddenly found wandering through the woods of the village where he was born. The story is more about the mother and what she feels about having the first child at home with her after so long and the relationship with her husband, who she married a few years after the disappearance of her son. Not much is known about what happened to the child in these 10 years, there are only stories here and there and only at the end we discover what really happened that day.

Continue reading “Silent Child”

The Liar’s Sister

The Liar's Sister
, ,

Bookouture
September 24 2019
ebook
298
English
August 25, 2019 August 28, 2019

Ten years ago Samuel Murray went missing from the small village of Buckthorpe and was never found again. A quiet boy who loved walking in the woods and tending the animals on his parents’ farm. Family, friends and neighbours all say they didn’t see him on the dark, rainy night he disappeared. But surely someone in the close-knit community must know something?

Rosie Sharpe cried for weeks after. But her little sister Heather knows that Rosie’s tears hide the truth. Because the night their friend Samuel was last seen, Heather saw her older sister climbing back into the window of their childhood bedroom. Her jacket torn, her eyes wild and her body trembling with fear.

Heather has never told anyone what she saw, but secrets can’t stay buried forever…

When Rosie and Heather are forced to return to the home they grew up in, to spend the last days with their dying mother, they must confront what really happened a decade ago. But the people of Buckthorpe make it clear they are unwelcome – they’ve always suspected the girls knew more than they said about the night Samuel went missing. And as the shocking lies of the past begin to unravel, they have the power to put the lives of both sisters in terrible danger…

This twist-filled, page-turning psychological thriller will keep you hooked until the final, jaw-dropping pages.


About the book

I would like to thank NetGalley and the author for my ARC in exchange for an honest review.

The Liar’s Sister talks about the conflict between two families in a small, narrow-minded village. The two families are the Sharpes and the Murrays, who have known each other for a lifetime, but the secrets that exist between the various members lead to a split that has lasted for ten years. On one side there are two sisters, the main characters of the book Heather and Rosie and on the other side Samuel and his adopted brother Peter. Ten years ago something happened, something serious and obscure enough that will put the two sisters in danger.

The book starts with a letter that Heather writes to her older sister Rosie and here we discover a fact that will be the main theme of the whole book. In fact, ten years ago Samuel disappeared and Heather is sure her sister knew something. Both return to bid farewell to the dying mother and at the funeral the two are treated coldly, but Heather wonders why she, too, is treated poorly and knows that everything started by Samuel’s disappearance and therefore wants to shed light on what happened. But will it be a smart move? Or will she only endanger herself?

Continue reading “The Liar’s Sister”

Only Daughter

Only Daughter
,

Bookouture
March 13th 2019
ebook
341
English
February 11, 2019 February 15, 2019

Kat experiences every mother’s worst nightmare when her only child’s body is found lifeless in an overgrown, abandoned quarry.

Desperate to find out what happened, Kat questions those closest to her as she tries to piece together the last days of Grace’s life. But as a darker side to her little girl begins to unravel, Kat wonders if she ever really knew Grace.

As Kat is drawn into a twisted game of lies, is she also in terrible danger? And will she be able to unlock her daughter’s final shocking secret?

Even if the truth is unthinkable…


About the book

I would like to thank NetGalley and the author for my ARC in exchange for an honest review. I chose this book because I didn’t know the author. Obviously I read it in English.

The book starts with a 17-year- old girl, Grace’s last minutes of life. From her words we find out that she fell (was pushed?) in a quarry and with all her strength left, she tries to save her life. More over we find out that her mother might be in danger.

The tale is in first person and given to Grace’s mother, Kat, who doesn’t believe that her only daughter killed herself like the police says. Kas has herself a particular past.

Continue reading “Only Daughter”