The Other Side

The Other Side
,

Level Best Books
June 8th, 2021
eBook and Paperback
306
English
May 6, 2021 May 14, 2021

How do you start an investigation when you have no evidence that a crime has been committed?

When a seventeen-year-old girl abruptly disappears, the ensuing investigation probes dead-ends seemingly as deep as Flathead Lake—the geographic and investigative center of The Other Side. In sleepy Lakeside, Montana, Britany Rodgers’s disappearance is as unexpected as the sudden, violent appearance of a storm sweeping off the lake. The search to find her unearths crimes but none that can explain her disappearance, and Detectives Steven Wendell and Stacey Knudson face one empty trail after another.

Wendell, unlike the girl for whom he searches, has never quite fit the expected norms of his peers. Meticulous, cerebral, a loner, he has the distinction of being the oldest graduate of the Montana Police Academy. When he and Knudson grow suspicious that Britany has been murdered, they have scant evidence and no body.

The investigation to discover what has happened to Britany takes readers into starkly contrasting environments—inside spectacular lakefront mansions and within gritty trailer parks—and into the lives of those who exhibit motivations as murky as the fog-choked Montana woods and mist-shrouded Flathead Lake bays.

The Other Side offers readers a tense crime novel with a literary heart.


About the book

I received this book as an ARC directly from the author who kindly contacted me asking for a honest review.

The Other Side is about a 17-year-old girl who suddenly disappears without leaving any trace. Did she leave freely? Or did something happen? The detective is Steve Wendell who is assigned to the case and over the course of the story we get to know him better.

Continue reading “The Other Side”

Before I Let You In

Before I Let You In
, ,

Headline
August 28th 2016
eBook
358
English
March 11, 2021 March 20, 2021
,

From the No.1 bestselling author of HOW I LOST YOU, which Clare Mackintosh called 'utterly gripping', comes a chilling new novel. Perfect for fans of Louise Jensen's THE SISTER and Katerina Diamond's THE SECRET, Linda Green and Paula Hawkins.

Karen is meant to be the one who fixes problems.

It's her job, as a psychiatrist - and it's always been her role as a friend.

But Jessica is different. She should be the patient, the one that Karen helps.

But she knows things about Karen. Her friends, her personal life. Things no patient should know.

And Karen is starting to wonder if she should have let her in . . .


About the book

Three friends, three women linked to each other, a mother, a single, a mistress. A psychiatrist, a housewife and a career woman. A new patient arrives at the clinic where Karen works, a woman who seems to know facts about the three women that no one but the trio has ever known, only they know the secrets never told, so how does this woman know? Are they in danger?

Continue reading “Before I Let You In”

Closer Than You Think

Closer Than You Think
, ,

, Book # 1
TCK Publishing
October 22nd 2018
eBook
314
English
March 6, 2021 March 9, 2021
,

Meet Bryce Davison, a gifted psychologist who can heal any troubled mind—except his own.
You see, Bryce’s life is falling apart. His marriage is crumbling. His insomnia brings only half-sleep and troubled dreams—visions of dark and buried memories he’d rather forget or ignore completely. And the new female patient in his psych ward just might be more trouble than he’s able to cope with.

…and now he has a stalker.

Somebody’s been watching Bryce for a long time. Somebody who knows his life inside and out—his fears, his regrets, his greatest longings and deepest despairs. Somebody with access to his most private places—his workplace, his home, his family…anywhere Bryce might have felt safe.

They do their dirty work in the shadows… and they want Bryce Davison dead.

So Bryce has got to get his life together. To save his patients. To save his family. To save his marriage…and his life.

Because no matter how close Bryce gets to the deadly truth, the enigmatic stalker is always closer than he thinks.

Fans of psychological thrillers like I Am Watching You by Teresa Driscoll, Stillhouse Lake by Rachel Caine, and No Exit by Taylor Adams will love this book.


About the book

First book in the series starring Bryce Davison, a rather good psychologist who, however, has a problem. A stalker. And this person endangers not only him but also his colleagues and his family.

I must say that with the passage of time, the plot did not remain impressed on me too much, perhaps because I did not read this book because I wanted to read it, but because it is the first of a series and to read the second I had to read this too (I don’t likes to read only one book in a series).

Continue reading “Closer Than You Think”

Face Off

Face Off
,

, Book # 3
Headline
August 28th 2018
Paperback
416
English
February 20, 2021 February 23, 2021
, , , ,

Tortured and left for dead at sixteen, Evelyn Talbot turned her personal nightmare into her life’s work—studying the disturbing psychopathy of some of the world’s most vicious serial killers. Now a leading psychiatrist at Hanover House in a small Alaskan town, she tries to believe the past will never come back to haunt her—until a woman goes missing from a cabin nearby, and every clue points to the man who once brutalized her…

As her boyfriend, who is the area’s only police, begins to investigate—and finds not one but two bodies—Evelyn can’t forget that her would-be killer, Jasper Moore, was never caught. But there are no new faces in tiny Hilltop, no one who seems suspicious or potentially violent. In this twisted game of cat and mouse, Evelyn is certain of only one thing—Jasper must be hiding in plain sight. And if she can’t find him before he comes for her, she won’t be lucky enough to survive twice…


About the book

Third book in the Brenda Novak series set in Alaska. Eight months have passed since the last book in which Evelyn, for the umpteenth time, was attacked because of her job, but fortunately she was saved by her new guard. Now she would like to have a child with Amarok, but the baby doesn’t arrive. Meanwhile, a tourist disappears and fear returns to Hilltop and many, including Amarok’s ex, blame Evelyn and Hanover House, the psychiatric clinic where she works in which the most dangerous criminals are locked up.

Continue reading “Face Off”

Hello Again

Hello Again
, ,

, Book # 2
Headline
October 3rd 2017
Paperback
352
English
February 16, 2021 February 19, 2021
, , , ,

SHE CAN MAKE SENSE OF A COMPLEX CRIMINAL MIND.
Evelyn Talbot, a psychiatrist at a maximum-security prison in Alaska, studies some of the world's worst serial killers. But she’s about to meet her most elusive patient at Hanover House yet: Dr. Lyman Bishop, AKA the Zombie Maker given his fondness for performing ice-pick lobotomies on his victims. A brilliant cancer researcher, Bishop is either the most cunning psychopath Evelyn has ever encountered—or he is wrongly convicted.

WHAT HAPPENS WHEN A CRIMINAL CAN SEE INTO HER OWN?
When a new ice-pick fatality occurs, it seems Bishop really was wrongly convicted. Except...Evelyn has a personal connection to the victim and that suggests the killer may be someone from her own past: Jasper Moore, her high school boyfriend who tortured her and left her for dead when she was only sixteen. Jasper also murdered three of her friends—and was never caught. Is he trying to send a message with this copycat crime? The only thing Evelyn knows for sure is that if Jasper is on her trail, she might not be able to escape again.


About the book

Sequel to Her Darkest Nightmare and the third book I read by the author. It’s been a year since the last book and Evelyn has fully integrated into the new state even though she still has doubts about whether she will stay or leave in the future. Hanover House is working full time and after the scandal of the previous year, many things have changed. Evelyn’s colleague has resigned (to not be fired) and there are new prisoners like Lyman Bishop called the Zombie Maker, a geneticist accused of lobotomising his victims with an ice pick. Bishop has the ability to question everything Evelyn believes, especially when another body of a young woman is found in Boston, murdered with Bishop’s modus operandi.

Continue reading “Hello Again”