Every Dead Thing

Every Dead Thing
,

, Book # 1
Hodder & Stoughton
1999
ebook
535
English
September 10, 2017 January 6, 2018

The gripping first Charlie Parker novel from bestselling author John Connolly - perfect for fans of Stephen King and Jeffery Deaver. Tormented and racked with guilt over the brutal slaying of his wife and daughter, Charlie Parker, ex-cop with the NYPD, agrees to track down a missing girl. It is a search that will lead him into an abyss of evil. At the same time, he is warned by an old black woman in Louisiana that 'The Travelling Man' is about to strike again. Multiple strands converge with a horrific confrontation in which hunter and hunted are intimately connected by guilt.


About the book

When I bought this book, somewhere I read “Perfect for Jeffery Deaver’s fans”… but are you kidding? Please do not compare a thriller genius with this boring author.

To say that I got bored to death reading this book isn’t enough, the narrative is slow and most likely because of this boredom, I lost all the connections because I honestly don’t understand how the case of the disappearance of the woman can be connected to the murder of his wife and child.

The protagonist is unbelievable, alcoholic, drug addict and moreover a born criminal.

In the post in which I introduced this book, I said “hope I won’t be disappointed”, but yeah, it happened!! Never again!

Honestly I can not even summarize what happened, I just know that the protagonist is tormented by the death of his wife and daughter, and I have no idea how this is connected to everything else.

-5 stars for this book.

Bones of The Lost

Bones of The Lost
, ,

, Book # 16
Scribner
August 27th 2013
ebook
336
English
August 30, 2017 September 10, 2017

The body of a teenage girl is discovered along a desolate highway on the outskirts of Charlotte. Inside her purse is the ID card of a local businessman who died in a fire months earlier.

Who was the girl? And was she murdered?

Dr Temperance Brennan, Forensic Anthropologist, must find the answers. She soon learns that a Gulf War veteran stands accused of smuggling artefacts into the country. Could there be a connection between the two cases?

Convinced that the girl's death was no accident, Tempe soon finds herself at the centre of a conspiracy that extends from South America to Afghanistan. But to find justice for the dead, she must be more courageous - and take more extreme action - than ever before.


About the Book

I find this book in the series a little better than the previous one (at least Brennan is not kidnapped) but not a 5-star-book because once again Tempe looks like a teenager with her first crush with Ryan.

Tempe is in North Carolina and is called for the case of a young unknown woman found on the side of the road, in her purse, a document that belonged to an important local businessman who died some time earlier. Furthermore, she is involved in a case involving the bones of Peruvian dogs. She is also asked by her ex-husband, Pete, to clarify a case involving the son of another former marine, accused of shooting two Afghan citizens in the back so Tempe travels to Afghanistan to examine the bones.

Continue reading “Bones of The Lost”

Cause of Death

Cause of Death
, ,

, Book # 7
Hachette Digital
August 1st, 1996
ebook
325
English
January 12, 2018 January 19, 2018

It is New Year's Eve, the last day of Virginia's bloodiest year since the Civil War. Dr. Kay Scarpetta plunges into the murky depths of a ship graveyard to recover the very human remains of Ted Eddings, an investigative reporter. What kind of story was Eddings chasing below the icy surface of the Elizabeth River? And why did Scarpetta receive a phone call from someone reporting the death before the police were notified? She soon discovers that Eddings' murder is merely the first layer of something much deeper --- a labyrinthine conspiracy that will put all of her criminal and forensic knowledge to the test like never before. For Scarpetts, the real challenge won't be cataloging the growing number of dead bodies, but preventing herself and those she loves from becoming the next victims.


About the Book

Cause of Death is the 7th book in the series of detective stories about Kay Scarpetta,

I liked the book itself, the plot is compelling and when it comes to nuclear, I’m all for it since I’m a chemistry major, the only flaw is Kay, I know that is the main character but I really can not stand her relationship with Wesley or her long speeches with her niece… in all the books I’ve read so far, it is the usual story with Lucy. I liked Marino more here, even if I did not like him in the previous book or at least his jealousy, here I found his character improved with both Kay and Lucy.

Continue reading “Cause of Death”

Lycke

Lycke
,

, Book # 1
Scribe Publications
March 26th, 2015
ebook
352
English

‘Death, death, death,’ she whispered to herself. But it was already too late. The panic was growing inside her.

On a cold and stormy Friday in May, a young girl disappears without a trace from outside Stockholm’s Royal Tennis Hall.

The missing girl is Lycke, and assigned to report on her story is TV4’s hot-headed crime reporter Ellen Tamm. As the police begin their search, Ellen starts her own investigation, delving into Lycke’s life: her family, the nanny, the kids who taunted her at school.

As Ellen is drawn deeper into a tangle of secrets, lies, and betrayals — and frustrated by the odd behaviour of Lycke’s family, as well as corrupt police, her upstart new boss, and the disturbing threats being made against her — she becomes more and more possessed by the task she has been given, tortured by the echoes of her own past, of the darkness that haunts her.

Will she find Lycke before it is too late for either of them?

Mikaela Bley’s debut, 'Lycke', is the haunting first novel in the Ellen Tamm thriller series, and is an exciting new voice in Swedish crime writing.


About the book

Lycke is a Swedish detective story and the first in the Ellen Tamm series. Ellen is a journalist and has some personal problems, the one that stands out most is that she is a bit obsessed with death. She also has a secret and the disappearance of a child is likely to bring out this tragic part of her life.

I like the fact that the “secret” of the protagonist comes out in the middle and not immediately or at the end of the book. The reader thus becomes curious but does not need to read the entire book to ask what happened.

Continue reading “Lycke”

Abducted

Abducted
, , ,

, Book # 1
CreateSpace Independent Publishing
May 29th, 2011
ebook
354
English
August 28, 2017 August 30, 2017

When Lizzy Gardner was only seventeen, what should have been the perfect night became the perfect nightmare. Kidnapped just blocks from home after a romantic evening with her boyfriend, Jared, she woke up to find herself at the mercy of a depraved serial killer. Imprisoned and tormented for months by the maniac she came to know as Spiderman, Lizzy narrowly escaped, the only one of his victims to survive. But Spiderman escaped too, outwitting police and cursing Lizzy to spend her life looking over her shoulder…

Fourteen years later, Lizzy is a private investigator who teaches self-defense to teenage girls in her free time. She does what she can to help others protect themselves and to forget the horror of her ordeal, yet fears she will always be known as “the one who got away.” Then she receives a phone call from Jared, now a special agent for the FBI, with grim news. The killer has resurfaced, this time with a very specific target—Lizzy. And he’s made it clear that she will not escape him again. So begins a chilling game of cat-and-mouse, a terrifying, heart-pounding hunt that only one will survive.


About the Book

I hate spiders! I wish everyone on Goodread.com would stop posting spider images in the comment section, but no! Anyway, I loved the book!

So the main character was victim of a crime and I usually don’t like that, even if I like series like Kate Burkholder and Smoky Barret, but I liked this in the book. So I’m very picky when main characters are victims, too.

Continue reading “Abducted”