Silent Child

Silent Child
,

Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
January 22nd 2017
eBook
413
English
July 2, 2020 August 7, 2020

In the summer of 2006, Emma Price watched helplessly as her six-year-old son's red coat was fished out of the River Ouse. It was the tragic story of the year - a little boy, Aiden, wandered away from school during a terrible flood, fell into the river, and drowned.

His body was never recovered.

Ten years later, Emma has finally rediscovered the joy in life. She's married, pregnant, and in control again...

... until Aiden returns.

Too traumatized to speak, he raises endless questions and answers none. Only his body tells the story of his decade-long disappearance. The historic broken bones and injuries cast a mere glimpse into the horrors Aiden has experienced. Aiden never drowned. Aiden was taken.

As Emma attempts to reconnect with her now teenage son, she must unmask the monster who took him away from her. But who, in their tiny village, could be capable of such a crime?

It's Aiden who has the answers, but he cannot tell the unspeakable.

This dark and disturbing psychological novel will appeal to fans of The Widow and The Butterfly Garden.


About the book

Silent Child is about a 6-year-old boy who is kidnapped and who after 10 years is suddenly found wandering through the woods of the village where he was born. The story is more about the mother and what she feels about having the first child at home with her after so long and the relationship with her husband, who she married a few years after the disappearance of her son. Not much is known about what happened to the child in these 10 years, there are only stories here and there and only at the end we discover what really happened that day.

Continue reading “Silent Child”

Black-Eyed Susans

Black-Eyed Susans
, ,

Ballantine Books
August 11th 2015
Hardcover
354
English
June 1, 2020 June 12, 2020

I am the star of screaming headlines and campfire ghost stories.
I am one of the four Black-Eyed Susans.
The lucky one.

As a sixteen-year-old, Tessa Cartwright was found in a Texas field, barely alive amid a scattering of bones, with only fragments of memory as to how she got there. Ever since, the press has pursued her as the lone surviving “Black-Eyed Susan,” the nickname given to the murder victims because of the yellow carpet of wildflowers that flourished above their shared grave. Tessa’s testimony about those tragic hours put a man on death row.

Now, almost two decades later, Tessa is an artist and single mother. In the desolate cold of February, she is shocked to discover a freshly planted patch of black-eyed susans—a summertime bloom—just outside her bedroom window. Terrified at the implications—that she sent the wrong man to prison and the real killer remains at large—Tessa turns to the lawyers working to exonerate the man awaiting execution. But the flowers alone are not proof enough, and the forensic investigation of the still-unidentified bones is progressing too slowly. An innocent life hangs in the balance. The legal team appeals to Tessa to undergo hypnosis to retrieve lost memories—and to share the drawings she produced as part of an experimental therapy shortly after her rescue.

What they don’t know is that Tessa and the scared, fragile girl she was have built a fortress of secrets. As the clock ticks toward the execution, Tessa fears for her sanity, but even more for the safety of her teenaged daughter. Is a serial killer still roaming free, taunting Tessa with a trail of clues? She has no choice but to confront old ghosts and lingering nightmares to finally discover what really happened that night.

Shocking, intense, and utterly original, Black-Eyed Susans is a dazzling psychological thriller, seamlessly weaving past and present in a searing tale of a young woman whose harrowing memories remain in a field of flowers—as a killer makes a chilling return to his garden.


About the book

Black-Eyed Susans is a book about a closed case, because it is a case that occurred in the past, with the criminal in prison, but for the main character it isn’t concluded at all, because she continues to find planted yellow daisies at her house. The attacker is on death row and now that she is an adult, Tessa, the protagonist, believes she has sent the wrong man to prison.

Continue reading “Black-Eyed Susans”

The Dry

The Dry
,

, Book # 1
Brown Book Group
May 2016
ebook
340
English
August 21, 2019 August 24, 2019

After getting a note demanding his presence, Federal Agent Aaron Falk arrives in his hometown for the first time in decades to attend the funeral of his best friend, Luke. Twenty years ago when Falk was accused of murder, Luke was his alibi. Falk and his father fled under a cloud of suspicion, saved from prosecution only because of Luke’s steadfast claim that the boys had been together at the time of the crime. But now more than one person knows they didn’t tell the truth back then, and Luke is dead.

Amid the worst drought in a century, Falk and the local detective question what really happened to Luke. As Falk reluctantly investigates to see whether there’s more to Luke’s death than there seems to be, long-buried mysteries resurface, as do the lies that have haunted them, and Falk will find that small towns have always hidden big secrets.


About the book

This is the first book that I read of this author and I think I will read more of hers. The book is set in Australia, in a very small town where heatwaves and drought are a every day problem and when something bad happens it is said “it’s the heat fault”. Federal agent Aaron Falk is in town for a funeral of a friend, Luke Hadler, who was involved in an omicide-suicide case. In fact everyone in town believes that he killed his wife and son, leaving only his daughter alive because she is only 1 year old. After that he killed himself. But Luke’s parents don’t believe this version and ask Arron to investigate.

Aaron will clash with the father of one of his old friends, a girl who died 20 years prior. The father believe that both Aaron and Luke lied in the past and that they know how the girl died.

Continue reading “The Dry”

Das Mona-Lisa-Virus (The Mona Lisa Virus)

Das Mona-Lisa-Virus
, ,

Bastei Entertainment
March 21st 2016
Kindle
465
German
--
August 7, 2019 August 10, 2019

In Milan "The Last Supper" by Leonardo Da Vinci is destroyed. In Mexico a group of models is kidnapped and tortured: when the girls reappear, their faces are brutally disfigured by what appear to be real surgical operations. At the same time, a computer virus is spreading all over the world, which systematically alters photo files. Is there a connection between these events? Helen Morgan - a Boston scientist - will shed light on the story. When in fact her daughter is kidnapped, the woman begins to follow a track that takes her to Europe, and exactly to the Louvre, where the picture of the Mona Lisa seems to be in danger. But the reasons for all this sink into the past, around 1500, when the famous painting saw the light ...


About the book

This book talks about art, beauty and stereotypes that nowadays have become a little too forced. Or at least that’s the underlying message that the killer gives. The characters are American but we travel around the world with Mexico, France, Italy and some other European countries. The protagonist is a scientist who studies the psychology behind beauty. What happens in our brain when we look at a piece of art? This is what she tries to explain, but this will bring her into the clutches of a conspirator.

Meanwhile some Miss America are kidnapped in Mexico and one by one they are disfigured to eliminate all their beauty. A computer virus is spread all over the world, a program that disfigures the photos and images of people and makes them ugly. But what is this concept of beautiful or ugly? Who dictated the canons of beauty?

Continue reading “Das Mona-Lisa-Virus (The Mona Lisa Virus)”

The Liar’s Sister

The Liar's Sister
, ,

Bookouture
September 24 2019
ebook
298
English
August 25, 2019 August 28, 2019

Ten years ago Samuel Murray went missing from the small village of Buckthorpe and was never found again. A quiet boy who loved walking in the woods and tending the animals on his parents’ farm. Family, friends and neighbours all say they didn’t see him on the dark, rainy night he disappeared. But surely someone in the close-knit community must know something?

Rosie Sharpe cried for weeks after. But her little sister Heather knows that Rosie’s tears hide the truth. Because the night their friend Samuel was last seen, Heather saw her older sister climbing back into the window of their childhood bedroom. Her jacket torn, her eyes wild and her body trembling with fear.

Heather has never told anyone what she saw, but secrets can’t stay buried forever…

When Rosie and Heather are forced to return to the home they grew up in, to spend the last days with their dying mother, they must confront what really happened a decade ago. But the people of Buckthorpe make it clear they are unwelcome – they’ve always suspected the girls knew more than they said about the night Samuel went missing. And as the shocking lies of the past begin to unravel, they have the power to put the lives of both sisters in terrible danger…

This twist-filled, page-turning psychological thriller will keep you hooked until the final, jaw-dropping pages.


About the book

I would like to thank NetGalley and the author for my ARC in exchange for an honest review.

The Liar’s Sister talks about the conflict between two families in a small, narrow-minded village. The two families are the Sharpes and the Murrays, who have known each other for a lifetime, but the secrets that exist between the various members lead to a split that has lasted for ten years. On one side there are two sisters, the main characters of the book Heather and Rosie and on the other side Samuel and his adopted brother Peter. Ten years ago something happened, something serious and obscure enough that will put the two sisters in danger.

The book starts with a letter that Heather writes to her older sister Rosie and here we discover a fact that will be the main theme of the whole book. In fact, ten years ago Samuel disappeared and Heather is sure her sister knew something. Both return to bid farewell to the dying mother and at the funeral the two are treated coldly, but Heather wonders why she, too, is treated poorly and knows that everything started by Samuel’s disappearance and therefore wants to shed light on what happened. But will it be a smart move? Or will she only endanger herself?

Continue reading “The Liar’s Sister”