The Silent Wife

The Silent Wife
, ,

, Book # 10
William Morrow
August 4th 2020
Hardcover
496
English
January 10, 2022 January 13, 2022
, , , , ,

Investigating the killing of a prisoner during a riot inside a state penitentiary, GBI investigator Will Trent is confronted with disturbing information. One of the inmates claims that he is innocent of a brutal attack for which he has always been the prime suspect. The man insists that he was framed by a corrupt law enforcement team led by Jeffrey Tolliver and that the real culprit is still out there—a serial killer who has systematically been preying on women across the state for years. If Will reopens the investigation and implicates the dead police officer with a hero’s reputation of wrongdoing, the opportunistic convict is willing to provide the information GBI needs about the riot murder.

Only days ago, another young woman was viciously murdered in a state park in northern Georgia. Is it a fluke, or could there be a serial killer on the loose?

As Will Trent digs into both crimes it becomes clear that he must solve the cold case in order to find the answer. Yet nearly a decade has passed—time for memories to fade, witnesses to vanish, evidence to disappear, and lies to become truth. But Will can’t crack either mystery without the help of the one person he doesn’t want involved: his girlfriend and Jeffrey Tolliver’s widow, medical examiner Sara Linton.

When the past and present begin to collide, Will realizes that everything he values is at stake


About the book

Tenth book in the series by Karin Slaughter dedicated to Will Trent, an FBI special agent of the Georgia Bureau of Investigation. Will is visiting a prison when a dead body is found after a riot and a suspect needs to be interrogated. He is in prison for killing women, 8 years earlier. The problem? He pleads innocent and says the real killer is still killing and those murders are catalogued as accidents. In fact, Will’s girlfriend and coroner, Sara, connects a woman’s apparent accident with the case she was working on 8 years earlier with her now-dead ex-husband Jeffery Tolliver.

Continue reading “The Silent Wife”

Before I Let You In

Before I Let You In
, ,

Headline
August 28th 2016
eBook
358
English
March 11, 2021 March 20, 2021
,

From the No.1 bestselling author of HOW I LOST YOU, which Clare Mackintosh called 'utterly gripping', comes a chilling new novel. Perfect for fans of Louise Jensen's THE SISTER and Katerina Diamond's THE SECRET, Linda Green and Paula Hawkins.

Karen is meant to be the one who fixes problems.

It's her job, as a psychiatrist - and it's always been her role as a friend.

But Jessica is different. She should be the patient, the one that Karen helps.

But she knows things about Karen. Her friends, her personal life. Things no patient should know.

And Karen is starting to wonder if she should have let her in . . .


About the book

Three friends, three women linked to each other, a mother, a single, a mistress. A psychiatrist, a housewife and a career woman. A new patient arrives at the clinic where Karen works, a woman who seems to know facts about the three women that no one but the trio has ever known, only they know the secrets never told, so how does this woman know? Are they in danger?

Continue reading “Before I Let You In”

Closer Than You Think

Closer Than You Think
, ,

, Book # 1
TCK Publishing
October 22nd 2018
eBook
314
English
March 6, 2021 March 9, 2021
,

Meet Bryce Davison, a gifted psychologist who can heal any troubled mind—except his own.
You see, Bryce’s life is falling apart. His marriage is crumbling. His insomnia brings only half-sleep and troubled dreams—visions of dark and buried memories he’d rather forget or ignore completely. And the new female patient in his psych ward just might be more trouble than he’s able to cope with.

…and now he has a stalker.

Somebody’s been watching Bryce for a long time. Somebody who knows his life inside and out—his fears, his regrets, his greatest longings and deepest despairs. Somebody with access to his most private places—his workplace, his home, his family…anywhere Bryce might have felt safe.

They do their dirty work in the shadows… and they want Bryce Davison dead.

So Bryce has got to get his life together. To save his patients. To save his family. To save his marriage…and his life.

Because no matter how close Bryce gets to the deadly truth, the enigmatic stalker is always closer than he thinks.

Fans of psychological thrillers like I Am Watching You by Teresa Driscoll, Stillhouse Lake by Rachel Caine, and No Exit by Taylor Adams will love this book.


About the book

First book in the series starring Bryce Davison, a rather good psychologist who, however, has a problem. A stalker. And this person endangers not only him but also his colleagues and his family.

I must say that with the passage of time, the plot did not remain impressed on me too much, perhaps because I did not read this book because I wanted to read it, but because it is the first of a series and to read the second I had to read this too (I don’t likes to read only one book in a series).

Continue reading “Closer Than You Think”

Hello Again

Hello Again
, ,

, Book # 2
Headline
October 3rd 2017
Paperback
352
English
February 16, 2021 February 19, 2021
, , , ,

SHE CAN MAKE SENSE OF A COMPLEX CRIMINAL MIND.
Evelyn Talbot, a psychiatrist at a maximum-security prison in Alaska, studies some of the world's worst serial killers. But she’s about to meet her most elusive patient at Hanover House yet: Dr. Lyman Bishop, AKA the Zombie Maker given his fondness for performing ice-pick lobotomies on his victims. A brilliant cancer researcher, Bishop is either the most cunning psychopath Evelyn has ever encountered—or he is wrongly convicted.

WHAT HAPPENS WHEN A CRIMINAL CAN SEE INTO HER OWN?
When a new ice-pick fatality occurs, it seems Bishop really was wrongly convicted. Except...Evelyn has a personal connection to the victim and that suggests the killer may be someone from her own past: Jasper Moore, her high school boyfriend who tortured her and left her for dead when she was only sixteen. Jasper also murdered three of her friends—and was never caught. Is he trying to send a message with this copycat crime? The only thing Evelyn knows for sure is that if Jasper is on her trail, she might not be able to escape again.


About the book

Sequel to Her Darkest Nightmare and the third book I read by the author. It’s been a year since the last book and Evelyn has fully integrated into the new state even though she still has doubts about whether she will stay or leave in the future. Hanover House is working full time and after the scandal of the previous year, many things have changed. Evelyn’s colleague has resigned (to not be fired) and there are new prisoners like Lyman Bishop called the Zombie Maker, a geneticist accused of lobotomising his victims with an ice pick. Bishop has the ability to question everything Evelyn believes, especially when another body of a young woman is found in Boston, murdered with Bishop’s modus operandi.

Continue reading “Hello Again”

The Last Widow

The Last Widow
, ,

, Book # 9
William Morrow
August 20th 2019
eBook
465
English
February 11, 2021 February 15, 2021
, , , ,

A mysterious kidnapping

On a hot summer night, a scientist from the Centers for Disease Control is grabbed by unknown assailants in a shopping center parking lot. Vanished into thin air, the authorities are desperate to save the doctor.

A devastating explosion

One month later, the serenity of a sunny Sunday afternoon is shattered by the boom of a ground-shaking blast—followed by another seconds later. One of Atlanta’s busiest and most important neighborhood’s has been bombed—the location of Emory University, two major hospitals, the FBI headquarters, and the CDC.

A diabolical enemy

Medical examiner Sara Linton and her partner Will Trent, an investigator with the Georgia Bureau of Investigation, rush to the scene—and into the heart of a deadly conspiracy that threatens to destroy thousands of innocent lives. When the assailants abduct Sara, Will goes undercover to save her and prevent a massacre—putting his own life on the line for the woman and the country he loves.


About the Book

Ninth book in the series dedicated to Will Trent of which among, other things, I have just reviewed book number eight (and 8.5). A quiet Sunday in August is shocked by a terrorist attack in an area in Atlanta known for hosting the FBI, the CDC and two hospitals, as well as Emory University. Will and Sara are about to have lunch with her family when they feel the tremors. As they rush to the site of the attack, an accident stops them, so they provide first aid, but they soon realise that this is not a normal accident. In fact, Will can’t help but watch the thugs kidnap Sara because she is a doctor. What do they want from her?

Continue reading “The Last Widow”