Those Who Follow

Those Who Follow
Wienerbrorskapet
, ,

, Book # 1
Aschehoug
January 15th, 2015
ebook
445
Norwegian

What starts off as a simple case of a missing person soon turns into a hunt for a brutal killer in a drama involving the members of a doomsday cult and monstrous experiments in racial purity dating all the way back to World War II. However, the tie to the past is yet to be uncovered when Superintendent Fredrik Beier is called to the scene of a mass murder in the outskirts of Oslo. The victims belonged to the isolationist doomsday cult "the Light of God". Initially, everything seems to point to a religious vendetta, but Fredrik and his new partner Kafa Iqbal are sceptical and soon another line of inquiry emerges. Fredrik suddenly finds himself in the middle of a murder case, hunting not only for a faceless killer, but also for answers as to what lies hidden in the sect leaders' mysterious pasts.


About the book

A Norwegian Christian sect is brutally attacked on their farm. A lot of the members are slaughtered, while others disappear. The police find a chemical laboratory when they arrive on the scene. Everything points to an Islamic group, but policemen Kafa Iqbal and Fredrik Beier discover that there is a bigger conspiracy, composed by a group of scientists who met in the 30s in Vienna.

Continue reading “Those Who Follow”

Isle of the Dead

Isle of the Dead
, , ,

, Book # 1
Quercus
January 1st, 2013
ebook
528
English

In 15th century Venice it is a dangerous time to be alive. A permanent winter has rolled in over the canals and bodies keep washing up on the banks of the city. These bodies are especially hard to identify, since they have been skinned.

In the present day, a famous portrait by Titian has been discovered. Its subject: the 15th century suspected murderer Angelico Vespucci. The skins of Vespucci's victims were never found, so his guilt was never proven. Although it is rumoured that when the portrait arises, so will the man. And when flayed bodies start turning up all over the world, it looks like this is more than just a superstition. A murderer has been called back to life, and he is hungry for revenge.


About the book

I read this book for the Popsugar challenge of “Your favorite prompt from the 2015, 2016, or 2017 Popsugar Reading Challenges”, I chose “a book of a female author”. At first I was convinced to read this book for the prompt “book with a heist”, but I remembered the title uncorrectly, even if there is a robbery in the book, but it is a very small fact compared to the actual robbery. Luckily it’s okay for another prompt (not that I wouldn’t read an extra book).

Of the author I read “The Caravaggio Conspiracy” before this and I really liked it. Sometimes (not always) I like intrigues born in the past and then brought into the present. This book starts in 1500 in Venice and ranges from London, Tokyo, New York and Venice itself.

When Gaspare Reni, an art collector, and Nino Bergstrom, his adopted son, come in possession of a Titian painting portraying the sixteenth-century murderer, Angelico Vespucci, they are alarmed by what might happen. There is a rumor that when the painting emerges, the sixteenth-century killer will also return, and in fact, shortly afterwards the one who found the painting is brutally murdered. Will Nino and Gaspare manage to get to the bottom of the painting legend, or will it be too late for the victims?

Continue reading “Isle of the Dead”

Every Dead Thing

Every Dead Thing
,

, Book # 1
Hodder & Stoughton
1999
ebook
535
English
September 10, 2017 January 6, 2018

The gripping first Charlie Parker novel from bestselling author John Connolly - perfect for fans of Stephen King and Jeffery Deaver. Tormented and racked with guilt over the brutal slaying of his wife and daughter, Charlie Parker, ex-cop with the NYPD, agrees to track down a missing girl. It is a search that will lead him into an abyss of evil. At the same time, he is warned by an old black woman in Louisiana that 'The Travelling Man' is about to strike again. Multiple strands converge with a horrific confrontation in which hunter and hunted are intimately connected by guilt.


About the book

When I bought this book, somewhere I read “Perfect for Jeffery Deaver’s fans”… but are you kidding? Please do not compare a thriller genius with this boring author.

To say that I got bored to death reading this book isn’t enough, the narrative is slow and most likely because of this boredom, I lost all the connections because I honestly don’t understand how the case of the disappearance of the woman can be connected to the murder of his wife and child.

The protagonist is unbelievable, alcoholic, drug addict and moreover a born criminal.

In the post in which I introduced this book, I said “hope I won’t be disappointed”, but yeah, it happened!! Never again!

Honestly I can not even summarize what happened, I just know that the protagonist is tormented by the death of his wife and daughter, and I have no idea how this is connected to everything else.

-5 stars for this book.

Bones of The Lost

Bones of The Lost
, ,

, Book # 16
Scribner
August 27th 2013
ebook
336
English
August 30, 2017 September 10, 2017

The body of a teenage girl is discovered along a desolate highway on the outskirts of Charlotte. Inside her purse is the ID card of a local businessman who died in a fire months earlier.

Who was the girl? And was she murdered?

Dr Temperance Brennan, Forensic Anthropologist, must find the answers. She soon learns that a Gulf War veteran stands accused of smuggling artefacts into the country. Could there be a connection between the two cases?

Convinced that the girl's death was no accident, Tempe soon finds herself at the centre of a conspiracy that extends from South America to Afghanistan. But to find justice for the dead, she must be more courageous - and take more extreme action - than ever before.


About the Book

I find this book in the series a little better than the previous one (at least Brennan is not kidnapped) but not a 5-star-book because once again Tempe looks like a teenager with her first crush with Ryan.

Tempe is in North Carolina and is called for the case of a young unknown woman found on the side of the road, in her purse, a document that belonged to an important local businessman who died some time earlier. Furthermore, she is involved in a case involving the bones of Peruvian dogs. She is also asked by her ex-husband, Pete, to clarify a case involving the son of another former marine, accused of shooting two Afghan citizens in the back so Tempe travels to Afghanistan to examine the bones.

Continue reading “Bones of The Lost”

Cause of Death

Cause of Death
, ,

, Book # 7
Hachette Digital
August 1st, 1996
ebook
325
English
January 12, 2018 January 19, 2018

It is New Year's Eve, the last day of Virginia's bloodiest year since the Civil War. Dr. Kay Scarpetta plunges into the murky depths of a ship graveyard to recover the very human remains of Ted Eddings, an investigative reporter. What kind of story was Eddings chasing below the icy surface of the Elizabeth River? And why did Scarpetta receive a phone call from someone reporting the death before the police were notified? She soon discovers that Eddings' murder is merely the first layer of something much deeper --- a labyrinthine conspiracy that will put all of her criminal and forensic knowledge to the test like never before. For Scarpetts, the real challenge won't be cataloging the growing number of dead bodies, but preventing herself and those she loves from becoming the next victims.


About the Book

Cause of Death is the 7th book in the series of detective stories about Kay Scarpetta,

I liked the book itself, the plot is compelling and when it comes to nuclear, I’m all for it since I’m a chemistry major, the only flaw is Kay, I know that is the main character but I really can not stand her relationship with Wesley or her long speeches with her niece… in all the books I’ve read so far, it is the usual story with Lucy. I liked Marino more here, even if I did not like him in the previous book or at least his jealousy, here I found his character improved with both Kay and Lucy.

Continue reading “Cause of Death”