May Recap

So let’s see what happened in May. First of all I decided to post book reviews weekly and not biweekly until I have reviews planned (yeah I’m slaking a bit in reading). So General Posts like this will be only once a month if I have something to report or we have 5 Wednesday and not 4.

As I said I’m slaking… I haven’t finished a book since April 5… I also did have a “no will to read” last year, in April, so I don’t know what’s about this month that makes me stop reading.

I’m still watching videos and performances about two Canadian ice dance Olympic champions and it seems I can’t watch enough times… (I think I’ve watched their golden performance 100 times, not to count the free dance before that – Latch – which is my favorite – or Prince – ).

May is full of birthdays, including mine and it’s the month previous to the school books rush for summer time homework (yes we get books during the 3-month-summer-vacation especially in elementary school) so I will soon help my aunt in her book store.

Nothing more to report.

Every Dead Thing

Every Dead Thing Book Cover Every Dead Thing
Charlie Parker, Book #1
John Connolly
Crimine, Mystery
Hachette UK
1999
ebook
480

The gripping first Charlie Parker novel from bestselling author John Connolly - perfect for fans of Stephen King and Jeffery Deaver. Tormented and racked with guilt over the brutal slaying of his wife and daughter, Charlie Parker, ex-cop with the NYPD, agrees to track down a missing girl. It is a search that will lead him into an abyss of evil. At the same time, he is warned by an old black woman in Louisiana that 'The Travelling Man' is about to strike again. Multiple strands converge with a horrific confrontation in which hunter and hunted are intimately connected by guilt.

About the book

When I bought this book, somewhere I read “Perfect for Jeffery Deaver’s fans”… but are you kidding? Please do not compare a thriller genius with this boring author.

To say that I got bored to death reading this book isn’t enough, the narrative is slow and most likely because of this boredom, I lost all the connections because I honestly don’t understand how the case of the disappearance of the woman can be connected to the murder of his wife and child.

The protagonist is unbelievable, alcoholic, drug addict and moreover a born criminal.

In the post in which I introduced this book, I said “hope I won’t be disappointed”, but yeah, it happened!! Never again!

Honestly I can not even summarize what happened, I just know that the protagonist is tormented by the death of his wife and daughter, and I have no idea how this is connected to everything else.

-5 stars for this book.

Bones of The Last

Bones of the Lost Book Cover Bones of the Lost
Temperance Brennan, Book 16
Kathy Reichs
Crime, Mystery, Thriller
Scribner
August 27th 2013
ebook
338

The body of a teenage girl is discovered along a desolate highway on the outskirts of Charlotte. Inside her purse is the ID card of a local businessman who died in a fire months earlier.

Who was the girl? And was she murdered?

Dr Temperance Brennan, Forensic Anthropologist, must find the answers. She soon learns that a Gulf War veteran stands accused of smuggling artefacts into the country. Could there be a connection between the two cases?

Convinced that the girl's death was no accident, Tempe soon finds herself at the centre of a conspiracy that extends from South America to Afghanistan. But to find justice for the dead, she must be more courageous - and take more extreme action - than ever before.

About the Book

I find this book in the series a little better than the previous one (at least Brennan is not kidnapped) but not a 5-star-book because once again Tempe looks like a teenager with her first crush with Ryan.

Tempe is in North Carolina and is called for the case of a young unknown woman found on the side of the road, in her purse, a document that belonged to an important local businessman who died some time earlier. Furthermore, she is involved in a case involving the bones of Peruvian dogs. She is also asked by her ex-husband, Pete, to clarify a case involving the son of another former marine, accused of shooting two Afghan citizens in the back so Tempe travels to Afghanistan to examine the bones.

Continue Reading

Book Blogger Hop #15


Click the image above to know what this is about! It’s fun!

This week question:

Could you ever pick a favorite book or is it like choosing your favorite child? (submitted by Elizabeth @ Silver’s Reviews)

My answer:

Choosing your favorite child… I do have a few favorite series, ones that when a new book comes out I can’t wait to read but not only one favorite book. I think it’s a sin t have only one.