• Challenge Website: Link
  • Goal: 5
  • Challenge Post: Link

The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes

The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes


, Book # 9
Headline Review
June 16th, 1927
Paperback
304
English
March 21, 2021 April 13, 2021
, , , ,

'Mr Sherlock Holmes, the well-known private detective, was the victim of a murderous assault this morning which has left him in a precarious position'.

Dr Watson stops dead in his tracks when he reads of the attempt on his friend's life. The forces of nature turn against man, love breeds hatred and cowardice, mothers appear to attack their own children, and Sherlock Holmes, the one man who can redress the balance, seemingly lies at death's door ...

When an assassination attempt is made on the great detective's life it seems that no one can escape the death and dread which blights Britain...


Last (finally) book dedicated to Sherlock Holmes and very short review. This is also a collection of stories that I honestly don’t remember that much. I don’t think I’ll miss Sherlock and his cases, often all the same or better with the same formula, so I’m happy to have finished this series (but not because I liked it).

Doyle’s style is obviously old, very often his descriptions of people who are not white and European are grotesque and somewhat racist which obviously at that time were accepted but been a few years later and having progressed (at least a little) socially it bothers me.

I will also certainly not reread it because rereading a detective story when you already know the end is not the best (even if I only did it once) and I honestly don’t understand his success. Especially for the collections of short stories that I don’t find illuminating at all.

The Other Side

The Other Side
,

Level Best Books
June 8th, 2021
eBook and Paperback
306
English
May 6, 2021 May 14, 2021

How do you start an investigation when you have no evidence that a crime has been committed?

When a seventeen-year-old girl abruptly disappears, the ensuing investigation probes dead-ends seemingly as deep as Flathead Lake—the geographic and investigative center of The Other Side. In sleepy Lakeside, Montana, Britany Rodgers’s disappearance is as unexpected as the sudden, violent appearance of a storm sweeping off the lake. The search to find her unearths crimes but none that can explain her disappearance, and Detectives Steven Wendell and Stacey Knudson face one empty trail after another.

Wendell, unlike the girl for whom he searches, has never quite fit the expected norms of his peers. Meticulous, cerebral, a loner, he has the distinction of being the oldest graduate of the Montana Police Academy. When he and Knudson grow suspicious that Britany has been murdered, they have scant evidence and no body.

The investigation to discover what has happened to Britany takes readers into starkly contrasting environments—inside spectacular lakefront mansions and within gritty trailer parks—and into the lives of those who exhibit motivations as murky as the fog-choked Montana woods and mist-shrouded Flathead Lake bays.

The Other Side offers readers a tense crime novel with a literary heart.


About the book

I received this book as an ARC directly from the author who kindly contacted me asking for a honest review.

The Other Side is about a 17-year-old girl who suddenly disappears without leaving any trace. Did she leave freely? Or did something happen? The detective is Steve Wendell who is assigned to the case and over the course of the story we get to know him better.

Continue reading “The Other Side”

Before I Let You In

Before I Let You In
, ,

Headline
August 28th 2016
eBook
358
English
March 11, 2021 March 20, 2021
,

From the No.1 bestselling author of HOW I LOST YOU, which Clare Mackintosh called 'utterly gripping', comes a chilling new novel. Perfect for fans of Louise Jensen's THE SISTER and Katerina Diamond's THE SECRET, Linda Green and Paula Hawkins.

Karen is meant to be the one who fixes problems.

It's her job, as a psychiatrist - and it's always been her role as a friend.

But Jessica is different. She should be the patient, the one that Karen helps.

But she knows things about Karen. Her friends, her personal life. Things no patient should know.

And Karen is starting to wonder if she should have let her in . . .


About the book

Three friends, three women linked to each other, a mother, a single, a mistress. A psychiatrist, a housewife and a career woman. A new patient arrives at the clinic where Karen works, a woman who seems to know facts about the three women that no one but the trio has ever known, only they know the secrets never told, so how does this woman know? Are they in danger?

Continue reading “Before I Let You In”

His Last Bow

His Last Bow


, Book # 8
Feedbooks
1913
eBook
165
English
March 11, 2021 March 17, 2021
, , , ,

His Last Bow is a collection of seven Sherlock Holmes stories (eight in American editions) by Arthur Conan Doyle, as well as the title of one of the stories in that collection. Originally published in 1917, it contains the various Holmes stories published between 1908 and 1913, as well as the one-off title story from 1917.
The collection was originally called Reminiscences of Sherlock Holmes and did not contain the actual story His Last Bow, which appeared later, after the full-length The Valley of Fear was published. However later editions added it and changed the title. Some recent complete editions have restored the earlier title.
When the Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes were published in the USA for the first time, the publishers believed "The Adventure of the Cardboard Box" was too scandalous for the American public, since it dealt with the theme of adultery. As a result, this story was not published in the USA until many years later, when it was added to His Last Bow. Even today, most American editions of the canon include it with His Last Bow, while most British editions keep the story in its original place in The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes.


About the book

Short review. Very short.

Eighth and penultimate book (thank God) dedicated to Sherlock Holmes. We are back to a collections of stories that, as you know, is not my forte and, unfortunately, the last one will be one, too (I already plan to take a lifetime to read it).

Continue reading “His Last Bow”

Closer Than You Think

Closer Than You Think
, ,

, Book # 1
TCK Publishing
October 22nd 2018
eBook
314
English
March 6, 2021 March 9, 2021
,

Meet Bryce Davison, a gifted psychologist who can heal any troubled mind—except his own.
You see, Bryce’s life is falling apart. His marriage is crumbling. His insomnia brings only half-sleep and troubled dreams—visions of dark and buried memories he’d rather forget or ignore completely. And the new female patient in his psych ward just might be more trouble than he’s able to cope with.

…and now he has a stalker.

Somebody’s been watching Bryce for a long time. Somebody who knows his life inside and out—his fears, his regrets, his greatest longings and deepest despairs. Somebody with access to his most private places—his workplace, his home, his family…anywhere Bryce might have felt safe.

They do their dirty work in the shadows… and they want Bryce Davison dead.

So Bryce has got to get his life together. To save his patients. To save his family. To save his marriage…and his life.

Because no matter how close Bryce gets to the deadly truth, the enigmatic stalker is always closer than he thinks.

Fans of psychological thrillers like I Am Watching You by Teresa Driscoll, Stillhouse Lake by Rachel Caine, and No Exit by Taylor Adams will love this book.


About the book

First book in the series starring Bryce Davison, a rather good psychologist who, however, has a problem. A stalker. And this person endangers not only him but also his colleagues and his family.

I must say that with the passage of time, the plot did not remain impressed on me too much, perhaps because I did not read this book because I wanted to read it, but because it is the first of a series and to read the second I had to read this too (I don’t likes to read only one book in a series).

Continue reading “Closer Than You Think”