Silent Child

Silent Child
,

Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
January 22nd 2017
eBook
413
English
July 2, 2020 August 7, 2020

In the summer of 2006, Emma Price watched helplessly as her six-year-old son's red coat was fished out of the River Ouse. It was the tragic story of the year - a little boy, Aiden, wandered away from school during a terrible flood, fell into the river, and drowned.

His body was never recovered.

Ten years later, Emma has finally rediscovered the joy in life. She's married, pregnant, and in control again...

... until Aiden returns.

Too traumatized to speak, he raises endless questions and answers none. Only his body tells the story of his decade-long disappearance. The historic broken bones and injuries cast a mere glimpse into the horrors Aiden has experienced. Aiden never drowned. Aiden was taken.

As Emma attempts to reconnect with her now teenage son, she must unmask the monster who took him away from her. But who, in their tiny village, could be capable of such a crime?

It's Aiden who has the answers, but he cannot tell the unspeakable.

This dark and disturbing psychological novel will appeal to fans of The Widow and The Butterfly Garden.

goodreads-image-of-book
About the book

Silent Child is about a 6-year-old boy who is kidnapped and who after 10 years is suddenly found wandering through the woods of the village where he was born. The story is more about the mother and what she feels about having the first child at home with her after so long and the relationship with her husband, who she married a few years after the disappearance of her son. Not much is known about what happened to the child in these 10 years, there are only stories here and there and only at the end we discover what really happened that day.

What I think

Unfortunately I found the book predictable. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve read too many books of the genre by now, but I figured out who the culprit was at the beginning (okay, halfway through when that person first was mentioned) and the whole mother thing too. There are no twists that can be called as such and both twists that are present, are predictable a mile away. That doesn’t make it a bad book, but I found it a bit slow even if the chapters are short. And yes it took me a month to read because I honestly wasn’t in the mood to continue so when my library bookings arrived I had no trouble leaving it to read those books (the two before this review).

Characters

There are no characters that I liked more than others, indeed the protagonist seemed to me quite stupid. And the sad fact is, there really are people like that. But is it possible that she doesn’t understand anything? But as I said I know there are people like that around so I shouldn’t be surprised.

The other characters are a bit over shadowed because even the “silent child” is not the narrator or the subject of the narration. But, for heaven’s sake, as I said, I liked the book a bit, but I can’t rate it higher because it is too predictable.

Share On:
Post on TwitterPost on FacebookPost on WhatsappPost on LinkedinPost on DigPost on StumbleUpon

4 coffees on “Silent Child

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *