A Tale of Two Murders

A Tale of Two Murders
,

, Book # 1
Kensington Publishing Corporation
July 31st 2018
eBooK
338
English
November 12, 2020 November 23, 2020

On the eve of the Victorian era, London has a new sleuth . . .

In the winter of 1835, young Charles Dickens is a journalist on the rise at the Evening Chronicle. Invited to dinner at the estate of the newspaper's co-editor, Charles is smitten with his boss's daughter, vivacious nineteen-year-old Kate Hogarth. They are having the best of times when a scream shatters the pleasant evening. Charles, Kate, and her father rush to the neighbors' home, where Miss Christiana Lugoson lies unconscious on the floor. By morning, the poor young woman will be dead.

When Charles hears from a colleague of a very similar mysterious death a year ago to the date, also a young woman, he begins to suspect poisoning and feels compelled to investigate. The lovely Kate offers to help--using her social position to gain access to the members of the upper crust, now suspects in a murder. If Charles can find justice for the victims, it will be a far, far better thing than he has ever done. But with a twist or two in this most peculiar case, he and Kate may be in for the worst of times...


About the book

A Tale of Two Murders is the first book in the series dedicated to Charles Dickens as an investigator. Charles is a young journalist in England in the 1800s with a somewhat troubled past due to his father but who wants to prove that he is not like him. One evening he is having dinner with his boss and suddenly they hear a cry in the house next door. The young daughter of the neighbour is ill so the two, with the oldest daughter of hi boss, run to help the family. Unfortunately, however, the girl dies in mysterious circumstances as she is young and in full health.

Charles does not rest easy especially when he finds out from his friend and colleague that another girl of the same age died under the same circumstances exactly a year earlier.

Continue reading “A Tale of Two Murders”

How We Disappeared

,

Hanover Square Press
April 3rd 2019
Hardcover
350
English
August 19, 2020 August 30, 2020

Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked, leaving only two survivors and one tiny child.

In a neighboring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is strapped into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military brothel where she is forced into sexual slavery as a "comfort woman." After sixty years of silence, what she saw and experienced still haunts her.

In the year 2000, twelve-year-old Kevin is sitting beside his ailing grandmother when he overhears a mumbled confession. He sets out to discover the truth, wherever it might lead, setting in motion a chain of events he never could have foreseen.

Weaving together two time lines and two very big secrets, this stunning debut opens a window on a little-known period of history, revealing the strength and bravery shown by numerous women in the face of terrible cruelty. Drawing in part on her family's experiences, Jing-Jing Lee has crafted a profoundly moving, unforgettable novel about human resilience, the bonds of family and the courage it takes to confront the past.


About the book

How We Disappeared is a book that narrates the true story of oriental women at the time of the Japanese occupation in China, of how they were kidnapped from their villages, often even in different countries, to be locked up in pleasure homes for Japanese soldiers. We follow the direct story of Wang Di from the time she was born until her old age and of a little boy whose grandmother, on her deathbed, makes a revelation that will upset his life and that of his family.

Premise. This book is not suitable for everyone. There is talk of violence and states of starvation that can hurt the most sensitive minds. And even the strongest ones like it happened to me. So take all precautions to read this book.

Continue reading “How We Disappeared”

Bird in Hand

Bird in Hand


, Book # 2
Ruthenia Press
September 3, 2020
ebook
289
English
October 8, 2020 October 26, 2020

ISBN: 0999548743 , ISBN13: 978-0999548745
Purchase Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

When the body of popular local guide Arley Fitchett washes up onto Maryland’s Eastern Shore, Lieutenant Sam Tate, just two months at her new job, is charged with investigating his death. She learns the dead man was searching for a carving he believed had been hidden in the area by pirates in 1718. He’s not the only one. Several others shared Fitchett’s obsession with the bird with the sapphire eye. But which one of them is the murderer—or the next victim? And how long does Sam have to catch a killer before her own past catches up with her?

“The book… allows Tate to more fully come into herown as a formidable character on whose shoulders future procedurals could confidentially be placed.” ~ Kirkus Reviews

“Bird in Hand will have prior Sam fans and newcomers thoroughly engrossed, all the way to the unexpected end.” ~ D. Donovan, Senior Reviewer, Midwest Book Review

“Even better than the first…leaving this reader eager for a third.” ~Teri Case, author of the award-winning TIGER DRIVE


About the book

The author of this new chapter of the series takes us on a mysterious search of a treasure, mixed with death and disappearance.

We meet again the investigator Sam Tate, already met in the first book. She is also a bit mysterious, she has a particular past and due to this past she has changed her name. Sam has just moved from Tennessee where she concluded a case of a serial killer who for years had been called the Wedding Crasher, resolved together with her boyfriend, an FBI agent, met on that occasion.

Continue reading “Bird in Hand”

Silent Child

Silent Child
,

, Book # 1
Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
January 22nd 2017
eBook
413
English
July 2, 2020 August 7, 2020

In the summer of 2006, Emma Price watched helplessly as her six-year-old son's red coat was fished out of the River Ouse. It was the tragic story of the year - a little boy, Aiden, wandered away from school during a terrible flood, fell into the river, and drowned.

His body was never recovered.

Ten years later, Emma has finally rediscovered the joy in life. She's married, pregnant, and in control again...

... until Aiden returns.

Too traumatized to speak, he raises endless questions and answers none. Only his body tells the story of his decade-long disappearance. The historic broken bones and injuries cast a mere glimpse into the horrors Aiden has experienced. Aiden never drowned. Aiden was taken.

As Emma attempts to reconnect with her now teenage son, she must unmask the monster who took him away from her. But who, in their tiny village, could be capable of such a crime?

It's Aiden who has the answers, but he cannot tell the unspeakable.

This dark and disturbing psychological novel will appeal to fans of The Widow and The Butterfly Garden.


About the book

Silent Child is about a 6-year-old boy who is kidnapped and who after 10 years is suddenly found wandering through the woods of the village where he was born. The story is more about the mother and what she feels about having the first child at home with her after so long and the relationship with her husband, who she married a few years after the disappearance of her son. Not much is known about what happened to the child in these 10 years, there are only stories here and there and only at the end we discover what really happened that day.

Continue reading “Silent Child”

The Murder on the Links

The Murder on the Links


, Book # 2
HarperCollins Publishers
May 1923
Paperback
320
English
July 8, 2020 July 14, 2020

Belgian detective Hercule Poirot is summoned to France after receiving a distressing letter with a urgent cry for help. Upon his arrival in Merlinville-sur-Mer, the investigator finds the man who penned the letter, the South American millionaire Monsieur Renauld, stabbed to death and his body flung into a freshly dug open grave on the golf course adjoining the property. Meanwhile the millionaire's wife is found bound and gagged in her room. Apparently, it seems that Renauld and his wife were victims of a failed break-in, resulting in Renauld's kidnapping and death.

There's no lack of suspects: his wife, whose dagger served as the weapon; his embittered son, who would have killed for independence; and his mistress, who refused to be ignored - and each felt deserving of the dead man's fortune. The police think they've found the cumprit. But Poirot has his doubts. Why is the dead man wearing an overcoat that is too big for him? And who was the impassioned love-letter in the pocket for? Before Poirot can answer these questions, the case is turned upside down by the discovery of a second, identically murdered corpse...


About the book

Second book in the series dedicated to Poirot. Since I am borrowing these books (virtual, no paper for now) from my library, I have to read them as soon as they are available.

Here the crime is committed in France and Poirot is contacted directly by the victim. The man is killed with a stab in the back, but who is the killer among the many characters in the story?

Continue reading “The Murder on the Links”