Every Dead Thing

Every Dead Thing Book Cover Every Dead Thing
Charlie Parker, Book #1
John Connolly
Crimine, Mystery
Hachette UK
1999
ebook
480

The gripping first Charlie Parker novel from bestselling author John Connolly - perfect for fans of Stephen King and Jeffery Deaver. Tormented and racked with guilt over the brutal slaying of his wife and daughter, Charlie Parker, ex-cop with the NYPD, agrees to track down a missing girl. It is a search that will lead him into an abyss of evil. At the same time, he is warned by an old black woman in Louisiana that 'The Travelling Man' is about to strike again. Multiple strands converge with a horrific confrontation in which hunter and hunted are intimately connected by guilt.

About the book

When I bought this book, somewhere I read “Perfect for Jeffery Deaver’s fans”… but are you kidding? Please do not compare a thriller genius with this boring author.

To say that I got bored to death reading this book isn’t enough, the narrative is slow and most likely because of this boredom, I lost all the connections because I honestly don’t understand how the case of the disappearance of the woman can be connected to the murder of his wife and child.

The protagonist is unbelievable, alcoholic, drug addict and moreover a born criminal.

In the post in which I introduced this book, I said “hope I won’t be disappointed”, but yeah, it happened!! Never again!

Honestly I can not even summarize what happened, I just know that the protagonist is tormented by the death of his wife and daughter, and I have no idea how this is connected to everything else.

-5 stars for this book.

Cause of Death

Cause of Death Book Cover Cause of Death
Kay Scarpetta, Book 7
Patricia Cornwell
Crime, Mystery, Thriller
Berkley Publishing Group
August 1st, 1996
Paperback
356

It is New Year's Eve, the last day of Virginia's bloodiest year since the Civil War. Dr. Kay Scarpetta plunges into the murky depths of a ship graveyard to recover the very human remains of Ted Eddings, an investigative reporter. What kind of story was Eddings chasing below the icy surface of the Elizabeth River? And why did Scarpetta receive a phone call from someone reporting the death before the police were notified? She soon discovers that Eddings' murder is merely the first layer of something much deeper --- a labyrinthine conspiracy that will put all of her criminal and forensic knowledge to the test like never before. For Scarpetts, the real challenge won't be cataloging the growing number of dead bodies, but preventing herself and those she loves from becoming the next victims.

About the Book

Cause of Death is the 7th book in the series of detective stories about Kay Scarpetta,

I liked the book itself, the plot is compelling and when it comes to nuclear, I’m all for it since I’m a chemistry major, the only flaw is Kay, I know that is the main character but I really can not stand her relationship with Wesley or her long speeches with her niece… in all the books I’ve read so far, it is the usual story with Lucy. I liked Marino more here, even if I did not like him in the previous book or at least his jealousy, here I found his character improved with both Kay and Lucy.

Continue Reading

Lycke

Lycke Book Cover Lycke
Ellen Tamm, Book 1
Mikaela Bley
Crime, Mystery
Scribe Publications
March 26th, 2015
Paperback
352

‘Death, death, death,’ she whispered to herself. But it was already too late. The panic was growing inside her.

On a cold and stormy Friday in May, a young girl disappears without a trace from outside Stockholm’s Royal Tennis Hall.

The missing girl is Lycke, and assigned to report on her story is TV4’s hot-headed crime reporter Ellen Tamm. As the police begin their search, Ellen starts her own investigation, delving into Lycke’s life: her family, the nanny, the kids who taunted her at school.

As Ellen is drawn deeper into a tangle of secrets, lies, and betrayals — and frustrated by the odd behaviour of Lycke’s family, as well as corrupt police, her upstart new boss, and the disturbing threats being made against her — she becomes more and more possessed by the task she has been given, tortured by the echoes of her own past, of the darkness that haunts her.

Will she find Lycke before it is too late for either of them?

Mikaela Bley’s debut, 'Lycke', is the haunting first novel in the Ellen Tamm thriller series, and is an exciting new voice in Swedish crime writing.

About the book

Lycke is a Swedish detective story and the first in the Ellen Tamm series. Ellen is a journalist and has some personal problems, the one that stands out most is that she is a bit obsessed with death. She also has a secret and the disappearance of a child is likely to bring out this tragic part of her life.

I like the fact that the “secret” of the protagonist comes out in the middle and not immediately or at the end of the book. The reader thus becomes curious but does not need to read the entire book to ask what happened.

Continue Reading

Happy New Website

As you probably saw, if you are a “coming back” visitor, the site changed a little bit. Even if the site header is the same and so the base colors, this is a brand new theme, coded from scratch. First of all I wanted to have a double site, both in English and Italian and since I had to translate the theme in Italian I decided to code it again (and I did have some errors in the validator that I wanted to eliminate, but I found out they are from wordpress and various script that I can’t do anything about, or rather I will try to check them when I’m finished with the translations). Anyway, New Year (Happy New Year by the way) Newish Site.

So today I’m going to present you the Italian version of this site, even if very few articles are translated. I wanted to have primary my book reviews in Italian, that’s why I created it and because I’m Italian and I think I express myself better in my language (not sure though, sometimes I can say the English word but not the Italian…). Each article is linked to the Italian version and vice versa with the little flag on the right. If there isn’t a translation yet, it links to the homepage of tinghe IT site.

Another good thing, I think, is that the site now is secure; I already had a certificate but for some reasons it wasn’t secure (and this is the second reason why I changed the theme, even if the theme coding was secure anyway). Not every article is “secure” meaning that I still have some images and links without the https so it gives the insecurity, I’m slowly changing all the articles but the site is secure even if there is the not so from google.

Other than that, my friend Janet challenged me to do the Popsugar Reading Challenge so I’m looking for book titles for that (it’s not easy! since I want to do it with crime/mystery books). I won’t have a problem with Nordic Noir since there are a lot of Nordic books translated in Italian (I saw that lots of good ones aren’t translated in English) but others have me stumped…